Solidarity statements from John McDonnell and Liz Lawrence

We thank both John McDonnell and Liz Lawrence for sending statements of support for our demonstration.

‘I send a message of support to your demonstration today in defence of trade unionism and higher education for all. I am having to speak in Slough to defend our friend and your ally Jeremy Corbyn, and so cannot join you. But please rest assured you have my support and that I stand with you in solidarity.’ John McDonnell MP, Labour Shadow Chancellor

‘Dear Mark and David, please give my best wishes to everyone attending the London Met UCU solidarity demonstration on Saturday 23rd July.  (I will be abroad on holiday at the time.)  I recognise the resolution and resilience which is going into the consistent campaigning to defend jobs and oppose trade union victimisation at London Met.  The courage shown by yourselves and other members at London Met deserves the support of all UCU members. In solidarity.’ Elizabeth Lawrence, UCU Immediate Past President

John-McDonnell-LMU-UCU-140516

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Meg Graham says:

    I intend to stick with my union (GMB) and with Labour. I also intend to support Jeremy Corbyn. I work with learning disabled adults who live independently in the community and I have seen their resources and their support cut, and cut and cut for the past 7 years. In those 7 years I received no pay increase at all, until April when I was awarded an extra 11p an hour annual increment. That’s around 0.8% pay increase over 7 years. The care industry generally has been squeezed almost to death. Staff are demoralised and clients are more and more isolated. I support #Jeremy4PM because I believe he will help transform our industry and put the CARE back into it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

